The Dragon and the Queen by Kaitlyn Davis

About the Book

Book #3 in The Raven and the Dove series

Genre: YA Fantasy

Perspective: 3rd person limited, multi-POV

Publication Date: June 21, 2021

Format: eBook- ARC provided by the author

Length: 548 pages

TW/CW: character death, battle/violence/gore, forced marriage, abusive partner, torture, imprisonment


A queen foretold to save the world…

Free from Malek’s clutches, Lyana returns to the world above determined to keep the isles from falling. But in a land where magic is forbidden, convincing the avians to believe in her power takes the one thing she doesn’t have—time. With Xander’s help, she must unravel the puzzle of the rift and gain their trust or lose her home forever.

A dragon in search of his destiny…

Turned into a monster by the king he loathes, Rafe flees Da’Kin. Yet even with the help of his crew, he can’t outrun the new power simmering beneath his skin or the gruesome visions haunting his dreams. A dark spirit calls out to him, and soon he’ll have to answer.

New enemies change the game as the final battle draws near…

Stuck in her spirit form, Cassi is at the mercy of the man she betrayed. Before he wreaks his vengeance, she must tell someone what she witnessed in the sacred nest. A demon walks the earth, an evil no one anticipated. But with all her friendships broken, who among them will believe her?

Prophecies unravel. War arrives. And passions burn, threatening to set the world aflame. 

My Review

Rating: 4/5 stars

What an enjoyable third installment in this amazing series! And that ending 😱… How am I supposed to wait until May 2022 for the final book?

This is one of my favorite YA series of the last few years, no matter how much pain it’s put me through. It started as a delightful retelling and has only grown into a standout story of its own with complex characters in an interesting world facing stakes that never stop intensifying. The POV switches are masterfully done, with each character working through internal and external battles of their own and making me fall more in love with them.

I enjoyed seeing the characters deal with the ramifications of their actions in book #2 while moving forward and working together to conquer demons new and old. Although the romances in this series are amazing, the friendships are a close second, if not more compelling at times, so if you’re a fan of found family you will definitely enjoy it. The magic system is fun and continues to grow more complex, upping the stakes with each reveal that ultimately made for a cliffhanger ending. It’s everything YA Fantasy should be!

The only reason I rated four stars is due to the diary flashbacks in 1st person from the POV of a new character. I’m not a fan of jumping back in time away from the main plot, especially when in this case the rest of the book was written in 3rd person. Yes, it was a diary so 1st person made sense, but I found it jarring, especially when flashbacks already draw me out of the story. However, this is very much my personal preference and I understand the author’s intentions, so overall it didn’t alter my love for this book significantly.

As I mentioned, I’m so excited for book #4 and know that this will be a series I reread time and time again!

Thank you so much to author Kaitlyn Davis for providing an eARC of this book in exchange for an honest review. All opinions expressed are my own.

About the Author

Bestselling author Kaitlyn Davis writes young adult fantasy novels under the name Kaitlyn Davis and contemporary romance novels under the name Kay Marie. Publishers Weekly has said, “Davis writes with confidence and poise,” while USA Today has recommended her work as “must-read romance.”

Always blessed with an overactive imagination, Kaitlyn has been writing ever since she picked up her first crayon and is overjoyed to share her work with the world. When she’s not daydreaming, typing stories, or getting lost in fictional worlds, Kaitlyn can be found playing fetch with her puppy, watching a little too much television, or spending time with her family. 

Start Reading

➜ Add The Dragon and the Queen on Goodreads

➜ Check out the first two books in the series – The Raven and the Dove and The Hunter and the Mage

➜ The fourth and final book in the series, The Godborn and the King, will be released on May 23, 2022

➜ Follow Kaitlyn Davis on Twitter or sign up for her newsletter here

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Create a website or blog at

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: